Laurier Centennial Conference: AMMCS-2011

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

banner   AMMCS-logo
  » Special Sessions
  » Contributed Sessions
  » Submit Abstract
  » Deadlines & Payment
  » Plenary Speakers
  » Student Prize
  » Conference Program
  » Proceedings
  » Conference Flyer
  » Travel & Local Info
  » Venue & Accommodation
  » Committees
  » Contact us

The AMMCS Awards for Students and Young Researchers (2011)

I.    Student awards.

II.  The Kolmogorov-Wiener Prize for Young Researchers.

III. Young Researcher Travel Awards.

IV.  Canadian Student Travel Awards.

I. Student awards:

  • M. Shakourifar (University of Toronto) for the presentation "Superconvergent Collocation Interpolants for Delay Volterra Integro-Differential Equations" (Special Session Category)


  • A. Naseem (University of Waterloo) for the presentation "Analysis of Tax-deductible Interest Payments for Re-Advanceable Canadian Mortgages" (Contributed Session Category)


  • A. Cederman (State University of New York at Buffalo and Buffalo State College) for the presentation "Numerical Analysis of Time-Dynamic Multi-phase Flow in Volcanic Conduits" (Poster Session Category)

Co-authors:  Anthony Grisafi, Eric Mikida, E Bruce Pitman, Jude Sabato



II. The AMMCS Kolmogorov-Wiener Prize for Young Researchers
  • Dr. Hassanpour (University of Waterloo) for his work on theory and applications of nonlinear vibrations.

Award citation:

Pezhman Hassanpour received his PhD from the University of Toronto in 2008. After his graduation, Dr. Hassanpour joined the University of Waterloo where he held an NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship. His research contributions include mathematical and numerical analysis of micro-electro-mechanical and micro-opto-electro-mechanical systems such as sensors and resonators. Dr. Hassanpour has been instrumental in analyzing such systems with deterministic and stochastic mathematical models in energy harvesting applications, biomedicine, health and food industries. His current research interests include also the development of nanotechnology-enabled optical biosensors, nonlinear systems dynamics and control.  At the time of the award he has published five papers in high quality international journals and six conference proceedings.

III. Young Researcher Travel Awards:

  • C.-C. Chu (University of Texas at Austin); presentation "A multiscale method for coupling network models and continuum equations in porous media".


  • E. Kaganova (University of Paderborn); presentation "Worst case analysis for deterministic online algorithm in capacitated lot-sizing problem".


  • Á. Rodríguez-Rozas (Instituto Superior Técnico-Universidade Técnica de Lisboa); presentation "An efficient parallel numerical method for solving reaction-diffusion partial differential equations based on generalized random trees".


  • A. Singh (Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee); presentation "The dynamics of a delayed predator-prey model with state dependent feedback control".


IV. Canadian Student Travel Awards (sponsored by Mprime):

  • Ed Abdelrazec (York University)
  • Scott Greenhalgh (University of Guelph)
  • Abdus Samad Bhuiyan (Brock University)
  • Alex Gaiduk (Western University)
  • John Palmer (Ryerson University)
  • Jessica Pavlin (McMaster University)

Laurier100 © AMMCS, 2011  

Design @ M2NeT Lab